Make your own free website on

Why was the match held?

Lords - July 19, 1998


The MCC held a match comprising of the best cricketers in the world to commemorate the 150th birth anniversary of the great Sir W.G Grace. The match was also played in remembrance of Lady Diana and the funds were given away as charity. The MCC were captained by Mike Atherton while the Rest of the world were led by Sachin Tendulkar. Following are the teams for the match ...


Teams for the Grace & Diana memorial match

MCC Rest of the World
Player Country
Mike Atherton (C) England
Aamir Sohail Pakistan
Shivnarine Chanderpaul West Indies
Mohammad Azharuddin India
Saurav Ganguly India
Brian McMillan South Africa
Ian Healy (wk) Australia
Anil Kumble India
Javagal Srinath India
Allan Donald South Africa
Glenn McGrath Australia
Player Country
Sachin Tendulkar (C) India
Sanath Jayasuriya Sri Lanka
Saeed Anwar Pakistan
Aravinda de Silva Sri Lanka
Graeme Hick England
Tom Moody Australia
Andrew Flower (wk) Zimbabwe
Wasim Akram Pakistan
Chris Cairns New Zealand
Ian Bishop West Indies
Mushtaq Ahmed Pakistam